Total Pageviews

Tuesday, August 10, 2010

AHERN Magazine's Distinguished African-American Pastor, Professional and Student Awards Banquet

The 2nd Annual AHERN Magazine Distinguished African-American Pastor, Professional and Student Awards Banquet will be held on Friday, August 13, 2010.

Each month AHERN Magazine recognizes an African American Pastor, Professional and Student who has made outstanding contribution to his/her community, by three standards: (1) Community; Involvement; (2) Achievement; and (3) Education.

These individual are eligible for the AHERN, Inc.® DAPS of the Year Award in their category. Each winner is chosen by the AHERN, Inc.® Board of Directors.

The Awards Banquet will be held at the Holiday Inn, 101 Springbrook Street, Johnson City, Tennessee at 7 P.M. Tickets are $30, and the doors open at 6 P.M (Formal/After Five dress).

Below is a list of the nominees for Distinguished Pastor of the Year, Professional of the Year, and Student of the Year:


Rev. Pamela L. Hoard

Pastor, Russell Chapel A. M. E. Zion Church

Rogersville, TN

Rev. Jessie L. Jones, Jr.

Pastor, Macedonia Baptist Church

Newport, TN

Rev. Frederick E. Brabson, Sr.

Pastor, New Covenant
Baptist Church, Knoxville, TN

Rev. Dr. Eric L. Leake

Pastor, Greater Warner A. M. E. Zion Church

Knoxville, TN

Rev. Dr. Paul A. McDaniel

Pastor, Second Missionary Baptist Church, Chattanooga, TN

Rev. Leroy Franklin

Pastor, Mount Calvary Baptist Church

Knoxville, TN


Dr. Kathy Dykes Sims, Executive Director, Human Resources, Knox County Schools, Knoxville, TN

Ms. Pearl Luvene, Probation-Parole Officers II for the Criminal Courts, Rogersville, TN

Mrs. Phyllis Y. Nichols, President/CEO, Knoxville Urban League, Knoxville, TN

Mr. J. J. Clark, Director of Track and Field, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN

Mr. Calvin Sneed, News Anchor, NewsChannel 9, Chattanooga, TN

Mr. Robert White, Chief Public Relations Officer, City of Johnson City, TN


Mr. Alvin Hill

Graduate of Cocke County High School

Newport, TN

Mr. Devin Mattison

2009 graduate of Austin East High School

Knoxville, TN

Mr. William K. Leeper

Senior, Tennessee Tech University

Cookeville, TN

Ms. Sidney Goins

2010 Graduate of Morristown West High School

Morristown, TN

Mr. Desmond Pierce

2010 Graduate of Morristown West High School

Morristown, TN

Ms. Alexandria Rodriguez

2010 Graduate of Greeneville High School

Greeneville, TN